Your Current Location:About Us > Supporting infrastructure

Supporting infrastructure

Source: Chinese Embassy in South Africa

[Roads] South Africa has the longest road network in Africa and enjoys highways. The road network not only covers the whole country, but also connects with neighboring countries. The total travel distance is about 754,000 km.
[Railway] South Africa's railway network and road network complement each other to form a complete land transport system. The railway links with Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Botswana, Zambia and Malawi with a mileage of 34,000 kilometers and rank No. 10 in the world, accounting for 35% of the total African railway mileage. 95% of the railway is for freight, controlled by Transnet.
[Air] South Africa air transport industry is relatively developed, the existing 10 major airports, located in Johannesburg, Cape Town, Durban, Bloemfontein, Port Elizabeth and other major cities. South African Airways is Africa's largest airline.
[Water transport] South Africa owns Africa's largest, most fully equipped and efficient shipping network, with 96% of its exports by sea. Major ports include Richards Bay, Durban, East London, Port Elizabeth, Nqqura, Mossel Bay, Cape Town and Sardania Bay, and the National Ports Authority of Transnet, Responsible for management.
【Communication】 South African telecom development level is high, the basic realization of the telecommunications network data, data microwave and fiber optic cable is the main transmission medium. More than 8.5 million Internet users, is expected by the end of 2012 will exceed 10 million. The postal service is monopolized by the South African post office, the postal network is developed, and the scope of business basically covers the whole country.
[Electricity] South Africa is a major electricity power in Africa supplying 2/3 of all electricity in Africa and 13 coal-fired power stations, generating 88% of the total electricity. In addition, there are 1 nuclear power station, 2 pumped storage Can power station, six hydropower stations, two fuel stations. In 2008, the total generating capacity was about 238.3 billion kilowatts. More than 95% of the electricity was supplied by Eskom. However, with the continuous economic development, the issue of electricity shortage in South Africa has become increasingly prominent.
Responsible for Railways and Ports: The Transnet Group is the exclusive monopoly of South Africa's rail freight industry with the sole shareholder being the South African government and managed by the South African government's Public Enterprise Division. All of its related assets and operations management are owned and managed by its subsidiaries. Its subsidiaries include: freight railways, railway engineering companies, the National Harbor Authority and the port company.
       Transnet Group's development plan in line with the South African national infrastructure development plan. Planning mainly includes upgrading existing infrastructure such as ports and railways. The specific content by the Transnet Group to develop market demand strategy.
Infrastructure Market Needs The strategic plan was proposed by President Zuma in February 2012: The government plans to raise Rs300 billion in another seven years to build and upgrade infrastructure projects such as railways, ports and oil pipelines. Of which 205.5 billion rand is spent on rail projects, of which 151 billion are for the development of freight railways.
A major challenge for South Africa is the fact that the existing railway system has reached its useful life. Due to lack of funding, 35% of the 21,000 km of South African railways are in a state of disrepair. Only 3,928 kilometers of road sections can operate at full capacity.
       In April 2011, South Africa's Deputy Minister of Transport Kronen said in Johannesburg that the South African government has approved a railway infrastructure development plan with a total investment of Rs 97 billion.
The project will start in 2014 with a construction period of 18 to 20 years. At present, the work done by the South African Bureau of Engineering on the feasibility study of the project and the procurement, financing, operation and maintenance programs has been completed. According to reports, the project planned three important high-speed railway.
current progress:
     - In the Transnet locomotive bidding project, the United States GE won the bid, at the same time requires 37% of the localization;
     - Another enterprise, CSR also won the bid;
     - China Development Bank 45 billion rand loans;
     - Another joint venture company won the bid to build a railway line connecting Swaziland with a target of about 17 billion rand.
        South Africa owns eight major commercial ports:
 Saldanha Bay, Cape Town, Mossel Bay, Port Elizabeth, Ngqura, East London, Durban and Richards Bay. The ports are owned by the National Ports Authority, which is the Transnet affiliate.
        Port function design:
    (1) Some port design functions primarily serve bulk cargoes such as the Saldanha port for iron ore exports and oil imports;
    (2) the other is mainly for some important industrial services, such as Mossel Bay for the offshore oil industry;
    (3) There is also a focus on a freight, taking into account the variety of import and export commodities. Durban, once the largest container port in the southern hemisphere (recently replaced by Jakarta), is also South Africa's largest oil port and has the capacity to handle other dry bulk bulk commodities and mixed cargoes.
 Key Port Introduction 1- Richards Bay (Richards Bay): Founded in 1976, South Africa is the main coal export port, is also the world's second largest bulk port. Dock a total of 21 berths, the maximum depth of 19.5 meters. Loading and unloading equipment has a variety of shore crane, loading machines and tugboats, the maximum can dock 370,000 tons of ships. In 2010 the entire port annual handling capacity of 85 million tons (in 2019 plans to expand to 100 million tons of throughput and above).
The port has become the most important place to load and dry bulk commodities, dealing with an ever-increasing variety of dry bulk, new bulk commodities and mixed bulk. Bulk cargo handling focused on the following four aspects: coal exports; scattered miscellaneous; dry bulk and wet bulk. A significant portion of Richard Bay's freight business is relocated from Durban Harbor, with the relative advantage of adequate stockpile space and less severe port congestion. It also has the ability to handle small quantities of containers. Richard Bay currently operates 21 berths, including a coal handling center and a small dock for moorings and tugs at ports. The coal handling center with five berths is owned by Richard Bay Coal Terminal.
        Richards Bay Harbor - Inland Transportation
        Called the Richcor Coal Line, from the southernmost tip of the harbor to the South Dunes Rail Loading Center, the line serves the RBCT. The northern part of the port is linked by rail to Swaziland and the northern coastline, Nsezi Field. John Ross, undergoing renovation, has direct rail access to the N2. Roads to Durban and N3 to Gauteng via the N2 highway are in good condition. Another large capacity direct highway to Gauteng needs to be built in the future. Richards Bay Port - Short-Term Planning Plans for future dry bulk and multipurpose hubs are included in The Richards Bay
        Capacity Development Plan. The opportunity to upgrade its loading and unloading capacity from 14 million tons to 24 million tons per year by means of a circular railway, new port equipment, stockpiles, rail infrastructure and more rationalized port operations. The new coal export hub plans to rebuild 600 series berths at South Dunes with additional berths. Wet bulk cargo handling capacity will be enhanced by the completion of berth 208 and the addition of storage areas, providing the opportunity to add an operator.




Key Ports Introduction 2-Saldanha Port: With an annual loading capacity of 8,000 tons and an annual throughput of 50 million tons (planned to expand to 80 million tons in 2019), it is a major iron ore shipping terminal with 2 berths, Two 35-ton freighters can be parked.
The port is the deepest port in South Africa, can be anchored 21.5 meters draft of the vessel. The total length of the pier is 900 meters, including 2 iron berths connected to the 3.1 kilometers of full-length causeway. There is another 365-meter tanker berth at the end of the iron ore terminal. Iron ore export facilities include tilt units that unload ore from trains, devices that unload iron ore to the mine stack, and belt conveyor equipment. This conveyor belt can transport raw materials to a cargo ship on the quay 7km away.
Inland transport: The port is linked by the Sishen-Saldanha rail link to the iron ore field in the Northern Cape. Another railroad leads to Cape Town, reaching the Cape Corridor and the hinterland of Gauteng. The N7 motorway connects the Saldanha port to the entire national road network. Liquid fuel pipelines connect ports to storage facilities outside the port and can be exported to Cape Town's refineries



South Africa's electricity market is run exclusively by Eskom, with a total installed capacity of 42 million kw, accounting for 60% of Africa. South African power in addition to meet their own needs, but also exported to neighboring countries. South Africa is rich in coal resources, yield the highest in Africa, for the development of coal-fired power plants with natural advantages.
The average annual growth rate of South Africa's GDP is expected to reach 4%. In the next few years, the gap between supply and demand of South African electricity will gradually widen. It can be seen from the figure below that according to the existing power supply capacity, the total capacity will continue to decline due to the aging of the equipment and the demand for electricity will rapidly increase. In 2012, the electricity supply will be completely unable to meet peak demand. By 2018, the gap will reach 9500MW.




        The South African government has introduced a new power policy to encourage Independent Power Suppliers (IPPs) to enter the market, and 30% of the new installed capacity in South Africa will be built and provided by IPP. Requires IPP-operated power plant operation standardization and internationalization.
  Eskom plans to add 17,000MW of installed capacity by 2014 and doubling its installed capacity by 2025 to 80,000MW. In the new 40,000MW, about 50% of the planned nuclear power. Followed by coal and gas power stations, and eight hydropower stations with a total installed capacity of 5.1 million kilowatts.
         In the five years from 2007 and beyond, Eskom plans to invest 150 billion rand (22 billion U.S. dollars) in power facilities. Eskom plans to source 50 billion rand from its own funds, and the remaining 100 billion rand is financed externally and halves South Africa's domestic and foreign finances respectively. Given the inflationary factor, the investment is expected to double to reach R300 billion ($ 44 billion) in five years. The picture shows: Eskom power plant construction planning

您当前的位置:关于我们 > 配套基础设施

配套基础设施

资料来源:中国驻南非大使馆

        【公路】南非拥有非洲最长的公路网络,公路四通八达,公路网不仅覆盖全国,且与邻国相通,往来十分方便,总里程达75.4万公里左右。

【铁路】南非铁路网与公路网相辅相成,构成完整的陆路交通体系。铁路与津巴布韦、莫桑比克、博茨瓦纳、赞比亚、马拉维等国相接,里程数3.4万公里,世界排名第十,占非洲铁路里程总量的35%。铁路的95%用于货运,由国家运输集团(Transnet)控制。

【空运】南非航空运输业比较发达,现有10大机场,分别位于约翰内斯堡、开普敦、德班、布隆方丹、伊丽莎白港等主要城市。南非航空公司是非洲最大的航空公司。

【水运】南非拥有非洲最大、设施最完备、最高效的海运网络,其出口96%通过海运。主要港口包括理查德湾、德班、东伦敦、伊丽莎白港、Nqqura、莫塞尔湾、开普敦和萨尔丹哈湾,由南非国家运输集团(Transnet) 下属国家港务局(National Ports Authority)负责管理。

【通信】南非电信发展水平较高,电信网络基本实现数据化,数据微波和光纤电缆是传输主要媒介。因特网用户超过850万,预计2012年底将突破1000万。邮政业务由南非邮政局垄断,邮政网络发达,业务范围基本覆盖全国。

【电力】南非是非洲的电力大国,供应全非洲电力的2/3,以煤为燃料的火力发站13座,发电量占总量的88%,此外还有1座核电站、2座抽水蓄能电站、6座水电站、2座燃油电站。2008年全年发电量约2383亿千瓦,95%以上的电力由南非电力公司(Eskom)供应。但随着经济的不断发展,南非电力短缺的问题日益突显。

铁路和港口的负责机构:Transnet集团是南非铁路货运行业中独家垄断的企业,唯一股东是南非政府,并由南非政府公共企业部管理。其所有的相关资产和运营管理都是由其下属子公司拥有和负责。其下属子公司包括:货运铁路公司、铁路工程公司、国家港口管理局和港口公司等。
       Transnet集团发展的规划与南非国家基础设施发展规划一致。规划主要包括升级现有港口和铁路等基础设施。具体内容由Transnet集团制定市场需求战略。

基础设施市场需求战略计划是由祖玛总统于20122月提出:政府计划再7年内拿出3000亿兰特用于修建和升级铁路、港口和石油管道等基础设施项目。其中有2050亿兰特用于铁路项目,其中的1510亿用于发展货运铁路。

南非面临的一大挑战是现有铁路系统已经达到了其使用寿命。由于缺乏经费,南非铁路总里程2.1万公里中35%的路段处于年久失修的状态。只有3928公里的路段能够满负荷运转。
       20114月,南非交通部副部长克罗宁在约翰内斯堡表示:南非政府已经批准一项总投资高达970亿兰特的铁路基础设施发展计划。

   该计划将于2014年启动,建设工期为18至20年。目前,南非工程局负责的有关该项目可行性研究以及采购、融资、运营和维护方案的制订工作已经完成。据介绍,该项目规划了三条重要的高速铁路。

目前进展:

     -  在Transnet的机车招标项目中,美国GE公司中标,同时要求有37%的本地化;

     -  另一家企业中国南车也同时中标;

     -  国家开发银行提供450亿兰特贷款;

     - 另一家合资公司中标建设一条连接斯威士兰的铁路线,标的约170亿兰特。
        南非拥有八大主要商业港口:

 Saldanha Bay, Cape Town, Mossel Bay, Port Elizabeth, Ngqura, East London, Durban and Richards Bay。以上港口归属国家港务局(National Ports Authority)管理,而该局则为Transnet下属机构。

        港口功能设计:

    (1)一些港口设计功能主要就是为大宗商品散货服务,例如Saldanha港口用于铁矿石出口和石油进口;

    (2)另一种则主要是为某重要工业服务,例如Mossel Bay用于离岸石油工业;

    (3)还有就是专注于某种货运,同时兼顾多品种的进出口商品。Durban港曾是南半球最大的集装箱装卸港(在近期被Jakarta所取代),它同时又是南非最大的石油装卸港,且有能力处理其它散装大宗商品干货,以及混合货运。

 重点港口介绍1-理查兹湾 Richards Bay :始建于1976年,是南非主要煤炭输出港,也是世界第二大散货港。港区共有泊位21个,最大水深19.5米。装卸设备有各种岸吊、装船机及拖船等,最大可停靠37万吨的船舶。2010年整个港口年吞吐能力为8500万吨(2019年计划扩展至1亿吨吞吐量以上)。

该港已成为装卸大宗商品干货的最重要地,处理品种不断增加的干散货、新型大宗商品和散杂。散货装卸集中在以下四方面:煤出口;散杂;干散货和湿散货。Richard Bay的货运业务很大一部分是从德班港转移过来,相对优势在于充足的堆存空间和不太严重的港口拥堵状况。它同时也具有装卸少量的集装箱的能力。Richard Bay现有21个运营中的泊位,这包含煤处理中心,和停泊港口清淤船和拖船的小型配套码头。拥有5个泊位的煤炭处理中心归属Richard Bay Coal Terminal公司私有。
        Richards Bay港 – 内陆运输

        被称为Richcor煤运线从港口的最南端开始到South Dunes火车装载中心,整线服务于RBCT。港内北部以铁轨连接通向Swaziland和北海岸线、Nsezi场。正在改造中的John Ross通过铁路可直接进入N2高速公路。通过N2公路连接到德班和N3到豪登省的路况良好。另一条运力较大的直通豪登省的公路需要在未来建设好。Richards Bay港- 短期规划针对未来干散货和多用途集散中心的规划都包含在The Richards Bay        

        Capacity Development Plan之中。该机会欲借助一条环形铁路、新的港口设备,堆存场地、轨道基建和更为合理化的港口运营,将装卸能力从1400万吨每年提升到2400万吨每年。新的煤炭出口集散中心计划将600系列的泊位重新规划在South Dunes,并额外新建泊位。湿散货装卸能力将通过208号泊位的完工和增加储藏区域来提升,这提供了增加一台操作机的机会。



重点港口介绍2-Saldanha港:具备每小时8000吨的装载能力,年吞吐量5000万吨(2019年计划扩展至8000万吨),为主要铁矿运输码头,铁矿集散中心拥有2个泊位,可停泊两艘35吨货轮。

该港是南非最深的港口,可以停泊吃水21.5米船只。码头全长900米,内含2个铁矿泊位连接在全长3.1公里场的堤道上。在铁矿码头的末端另有一个365米场的油轮泊位。铁矿出口设备包含从火车卸载矿石的倾斜装置,卸载铁矿至矿堆的装置和装上传送带设备。这条传送带可将原料运往7公里以外码头上的货船中。

内陆运输:港口由Sishen-Saldanha铁路通道连接到北开普省(Northern Cape)的铁矿石场区。另有一条铁路通向开普敦,再达开普走廊(Cape Corridor)和豪登省腹地。N7高速公路让Saldanha港口可以连入整个国家公路网络。液体燃料管道将港口与港外的储藏设备连接,并可输往开普敦的精炼厂


南非电力市场由国家电力公司(Eskom)独家经营,装机规模4200万kw,占非洲60%。南非电力除了满足本国需求外,还出口周边国家。南非境内煤炭资源丰富,产量居非洲首位,对于发展煤电站具有天然的优势。  

南非的GDP年均增长率预计将达到4%,未来几年,南非电力的供需差距将逐渐拉大。从下图中可以看出,按照现有的电力供应能力,由于设备的老化等因素,总容量将不断下降,而电力需求却在迅速上升。2012年电力供应将完全不能满足高峰时的需求,到2018年,缺口将达到9500MW。



        南非政府出台新的电力政策,鼓励独立电力供应商(IPP)进入市场,并且南非市场上30%的新增装机将由IPP来建设和提供。要求IPP经营的电厂运作规范化、国际化。  

 Eskom计划到2014年新增装机17,000MW,到2025年将电力装机在目前基础上翻番,达到80,000MW。在新增的40,000MW中,计划约50%为核电。其次是煤电和燃气电站,以及8座总装机容量510万千瓦的水电站。
        从2007年开始及以后的5年间,Eskom计划投资1500亿兰特(220亿美元)用于电力设施建设。Eskom计划500亿兰特来源于自有资金,余下的1000亿兰特由外部融资,计划南非国内和国外融资各占一半。考虑到通货膨胀因素,预计该投资将翻番,5年达到3000亿兰特(440亿美元)。 下图为:Eskom电厂建设规划