Your Current Location:EMSEZ>mineral resources

EMSEZ

mineral resources


South African mining overview

Mining is South Africa's economically established and resource-rich sector, with a high degree of technical expertise and the ability to raise funds for new developments. It has provided impetus for the development of a broad and effective physical infrastructure and has made a significant contribution to the establishment of secondary industries. South Africa, with its rich diversity of natural resources, is a major producer and supplier of a wide range of minerals. In 2014, it produced about 53 different minerals from 1,796 mines and quarries. 54 gold mines, 51 PGMs, 155 coal and 418 diamond mines, all of which are primary products. 96% of the platinum group metals, 74% of chromium, 26% of manganese, 26% of vanadium and 11% of gold, which account for the world reserves. As most of the identified mineral resources and reserves have been discovered through outdated exploration, the potential for discovering other world-class deposits in areas that have not yet been thoroughly explored by modern exploration technologies remains high.

Energy minerals overview


South Africa ranks top 10 in the world for coal and uranium resources. In 2014, the country ranked fifth in the world in terms of coal reserves, making it the seventh largest producer of coal in the world. The country's uranium resources rank seventh in the world and uranium output eleventh. In South Africa, uranium is produced primarily as a by-product of processing gold-bearing ores. South Africa's coal reserves are mainly located in Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal and Limpopo provinces.

South Africa has a very small oil and gas reserves, but it is possible to store large quantities of shale gas in the Karoo Basin. South Africa imports more than 60% of its raw materials for liquid fuel production, the rest comes from synthetic fuels, which are produced domestically from coal and natural gas.

coal

As of the end of 2014, the world's proven coal reserves totaled 891.31 billion tons. The United States has the largest coal reserves, accounting for 26.6% of the global total, followed by Russia (17.6%) and China (12.8%). South Africa ranks fifth in the world, accounting for 7.5% of these reserves.

Black metal and mineral overview

Total ferrous metal production in South Africa increased by 13.0% to 108,848 kilotons (kilotons). Iron ore continues to be a major contributor to the production of ferrous metals, accounting for 74.5% of the total black minerals, followed by chrome ore and manganese ore, at 13.0% and 12.5% respectively.

chromium

Global chromium ore reserves in 2014 are estimated at 9,297 million tonnes (Table 67), South Africa at 73.7%, followed by Zimbabwe and Kazakhstan at 10.2% and 4.2% respectively. In 2014, global chromium ore production reached 23 million tons, down 17.4% from 2013, with South Africa leading 43.5%, followed by Kazakhstan and India at 19.3% and 8.3% respectively. According to the International Association of Chromium (ICDA), in 2014, about 96% of global chromium ore production was used for metallurgical production of ferrochrome. The world stainless steel output was 416 million tons, up 9.3% over 2013, mainly due to the increase in production in China. China continues to lead the global stainless steel market, accounting for 52% of global output, followed by Japan and India at 8% and 7% respectively.

manganese

According to the latest data from the U.S. Bureau of International Reconciliation, the global manganese ore reserves in 2014 were 570 million tons (Mt). South Africa, Ukraine, Australia, Brazil and India are among the top five manganese ore reserves in the country, reaching 490 million tons, accounting for 86% of the total reserves. Due to the increase in production, the global output of manganese ore increased by 9%. It is estimated that in 2015, it was 59.2 million tons. In particular, the output of China and South Africa increased by 20.5 million tons and 13.5 million tons respectively. China is the leader of 20.5 million tons, followed by South Africa and Australia, with 13.5 million tons and 7.4 million tons respectively. South Africa's production increased 23.6% over 2013 due to the increase in the company's production.
Illustration of the existing mine in Limpopo province (red part: South African energy and metallurgical special economic zone)
 

信息来源:南非矿物资源部报告
详见下面主要矿物分类和综合介绍

煤.pdf

铬.pdf
.pdf
南非矿业.pdf

您当前的位置:特区优势 >矿产资源

特区优势

矿产资源



南非矿业概述

矿业是南非经济建立和资源丰富的部门,拥有高度的技术专长和为新的发展筹集资金的能力。 它为发展广泛而有效的物质基础设施提供了动力,为建立第二产业作出了巨大贡献。 南非拥有丰富多样的自然资源,是一系列矿物的主要生产商和供应商,2014年记录从1796个矿山和采石场生产了大约53种不同的矿物。54个黄金矿,51个铂族金属族,155个煤炭和418个钻石矿山,都是初级产品。 占已知全球储量的铂族金属96%,铬74%,锰26%,钒26%,黄金储量11%。由于大多数已确定的矿产资源和储量是通过过时的勘探手段发现的,因此在尚未被现代勘探技术彻底探索的地区发现其他世界级矿藏的潜力仍然很大。

能源矿物概述
南非的煤炭和铀资源位居世界前十位。 2014年,全国煤炭储量居世界第五位,是第七大煤炭生产国。 该国的铀资源量居世界第七位,而铀产量排名第十一位。 在南非,铀主要是作为处理含金矿石的副产品生产的。 南非的煤炭储量主要位于普马兰加省,夸祖鲁 - 纳塔尔省和林波波省。

南非拥有非常小的石油和天然气储量,但有可能在卡鲁盆地大量储存页岩气。 南非进口超过60%的液体燃料生产所需的原料,其余的来自合成燃料,这些合成燃料是由煤和天然气在国内生产的。


截至2014年底,全球探明煤炭储量总计8913.31亿吨。 美国(美国)拥有最大的煤炭储量,占全球总量的26.6%,其次是俄罗斯(17.6%)和中国(12.8%)。 南非在全球排名第五,占这些储备的7.5%。

黑色金属及矿产概述
南非的黑色金属矿产总产量增加了13.0%,达108 848千吨(千吨)。 铁矿石仍然是黑色金属生产的主要贡献者,占黑色矿产总量的74.5%,其次是铬矿和锰矿,分别为13.0% 和12.5%。


2014年全球铬矿储量估计为92.97亿吨(表67),南非占73.7%,其次是津巴布韦和哈萨克斯坦,分别为10.2%和4.2%。 2014年,全球铬矿产量达2300万吨,比2013年下降17.4%,其中南非43.5%领先,其次是哈萨克斯坦和印度,分别为19.3%和8.3%。根据国际铬协会(ICDA)的统计,2014年约占全球铬矿产量的96%用于冶金生产铬铁。世界不锈钢产量为4.16亿吨,比2013年增长9.3%,主要由于中国产量增加。 中国继续领导全球不锈钢市场,占全球产量的52%,其次是日本和印度,分别为8%和7%。


根据美国地调局的最新数据,2014年全球锰矿储量为5.7亿吨(Mt)。南非,乌克兰,澳大利亚,巴西和印度是五大锰矿储量国家,达4.9亿吨,共同占 总储量的86%。 由于产量增加,锰矿全球产量增长了9%,估计2014年为5920万吨,尤其是中国和南非的产量分别增加了2050万吨和1350万吨。 中国是的2050万吨领先,其次是南非和澳大利亚,分别为1350万吨和740万吨。 南非的产量比2013年增长了23.6%,原因是公司产量增加。

林波波省现有矿山图示(红色部分为南非能源冶金经济特区)


信息来源:南非矿物资源部报告
详见下面主要矿物分类和综合介绍


煤.pdf

铬.pdf
.pdf
南非矿业.pdf